HPR Board of Directors

The Hawaiʻi Public Radio Board of Directors is the entity which is legally responsible for the governance of HPR as a nonprofit corporation. It also holds the FCC broadcast licenses for the radio stations operating as HPR. The operation and organization of the Board is outlined in the Hawaiʻi Public Radio Bylaws.

The Board members are selected for their commitment to the mission and goals of HPR, and for their expertise in various fields. The individual Directors serve as volunteers and meet approximately six times per year at the HPR studio complex at 738 Kāheka Street in Honolulu. Additionally, Board Committees meet regularly throughout the year. All Board and Board Committee meetings are open to the public. The calendar for full HPR Board meetings can be found below. 

Board members FY2015:

Dr. Tyrie Jenkins, chair
Nathan J. Sult, secretary
John T. Laufer, treasurer

Buffy Cushman-Patz
Rosemary T. Fazio
Frank Haas
Barbara A. Hastings
Marcie Uehara Herring
Howard M. Higa
Anne Swayne Keir
Paul R. Mancini
Jan R. Medusky
Deane Neubauer
Barry Rivers
Kenneth Robbins
Dawn Suyenaga
Michael Titterton, HPR president
Dr. Bill Wiecking
Alan T. Yamamoto
Yang Yao
Carl J. Yee
Carol Yotsuda

Valerie Yee, HPR vice president
Bernadette Shimono, HPR vice president, finance / asst. treasurer

Board meetings

March 28, 2016 General Board Meeting
May 23, 2016 General Board Meeting

July 25, 2016 General Board Meeting